Home National International Important Days Awards Sports Appointments Defence Summits Rank and Reports Books and Authors Banking State News Current Affairs in English Current Affairs in Hindi Miscellaneous


CSIR announces the winners of Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar prize for 2019

CSIR announces the winners of Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar prize for 2019

The awards were presented on the occasion of the 78th Foundation Day of Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR).

Shekhar C Mande, the director general of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), announced the winners on the occasion of CSIR Foundation Day on September 26, 2019.

Prize Recipients :

Biological Sciences winners: Dr. Kayarat Sai Krishnan (Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune); Dr. Soumen Basak (National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi)

Chemical Sciences: Dr. Raghavan B Sunoj (IIT, Bombay); Dr. Tapas Kumar Maji (Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bengaluru)

Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences: Dr. Subimal Ghosh (IIT, Bombay)

Engineering Sciences: Manik Varma (Microsoft Research India, Bengaluru)

Mathematical Sciences: Dr. Dishant Mayur Bhai Pancholi (Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai), Dr. Nina Gupta (Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata)

Medical Sciences: Dr. Dheeraj Kumar (International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, New Delhi), Dr. Mohammad Javed Ali (LV Prasad Eye Institute, Hyderabad)

Physical Sciences: Dr. Aninda Sinha (IISc, Bengaluru), Dr. Shankar Ghosh (TIFR, Mumbai)

The prize carries a cash component of Rs 5 lakh each. It is awarded annually for outstanding research, both fundamental and applied. It is named after the founder director general of CSIR, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar.

Download Now